Standards Revision

In conjunction with the Future Development Competency Model, CAHIIM will go through the Accreditation Standards revision process. CAHIIM develops and adopts Accreditation Standards that are the basis for programmatic review and evaluation of degree-granting programs in HI and HIM.

The process of standards revision will encompass two different rounds of open public comment periods beginning in August 2023. CAHIIM has an Accreditation Standards Working Group that is leading the charge in the revision of the Accreditation Standards.

The first public comment period for the HIM Undergraduate Accreditation Standards is now closed. The comments provided during the open comment period, which ended September 17, 2023, are currently under review.  CAHIIM would like to thank all those who provided comments.

The first public comment period for the HIM Graduate Accreditation Standards is now closed. The comments provided during the open comment period, which ended September 20, 2023, are currently under review.  CAHIIM would like to thank all those who provided comments. 

These revisions do not encompass every undergraduate and graduate accreditation standard. The revisions include the standards that will be impacted by shift to competency-based education (CBE).  If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to CAHIIM. 
Things to consider while you participate in the public comment period:
Clarity - is the Standard written so that it is clearly articulated.
Validity - is the Standard reasonable.
• You may choose to evaluate all Standards, or you may add comments to just the Standard(s) that you feel require adjustment.


Meet the Standards Revision Workgroup


Debby Schultze, MS, RHIA
HIM Department Chair
St. Charles Community College

Lisa Delhomme, MHA, RHIA
Program Director and Master Instructor
University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Irby Hunter MD, MHA, RHIA, CPC, CDS
Health Informatics and Information Technology Program Director
Community College of Baltimore County

Gregory Zaleski, MBA RHIA
CoHS National Faculty Chair and Associate Professor
DeVry University

Associate Professor & Chair, Department of Health Information Management
Texas State University

Dr. Sandra Brightwell, RHIA, FAHIMA
Director, Health Information Management
Central Arizona College

Beverly Marquez, MS, RHIA
Director of Health Information Technology/Medical Coding Program
State Fair Community College

Lesley Plemons, MS, RHIA
Program Director / Professor, Health Information Technology
McLennan Community College

Valerie Dobson, MHS, RHIA, CCS
Health Science Department Chair
Director, Health Information Technology, Healthcare Management Technology and Phlebotomy Program
McDowell Technical Community College

Rayane AbuSabha, PhD, RD
Executive Director, Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics

Pauline Calla, MBA, RHIA
Program Director, Assistant Professor, Health Information Administration
Loma Linda University

Bryce Miller, MSHI, RHIA
Program Director, Health Information Technology
University of Arkansas - Pulaski Technical College

Tentative Timeline for Completion


1st Open Comment Period
Undergraduate Standards
August 15- September 17, 2023

Graduate Standards
August 24 - September 20, 2023

Open Hearing for Standards Revision 
October 3, 2023
2nd Open Comment Period  October - November 2023
Approved by CAHIIM Board of Directors
First Quarter 2024
Distribution of New Accreditation Standards to Programs
First Quarter 2024